Whittel & Melton, LLC

DUI

Numerous DUI arrests are made every year in the state of Florida, many of which are for felony DUI. There are a few factors that differentiate a felony DUI from a misdemeanor. If the DUI charge is a driver's third DUI within 10 years or their fourth or succeeding DUI, prosecutors can enhance the charge to felony status. Additionally, a Felony DUI can be charged if there were any injuries caused by impaired driving that resulted in a serious bodily injury or death, most commonly called DUI Manslaughter.

Unfortunately, many people fail to realize that a DUI arrest is not a simple matter and make the mistake of pursuing a charge without the help of a DUI attorney. Even a first time DUI conviction can result in jail time and the fines associated with a misdemeanor or felony DUI can be quite troublesome.

It is important to understand that any type of DUI charge can negatively impact your life very quickly. Driving under the influence of drugs, alcohol, prescription medications or any combination of the three is a criminal traffic violation with criminal consequences. If you are convicted of a criminal charge, such as a DUI, it will appear on your criminal record and you will not be able to have it expunged. A Florida DUI can only be expunged from a person's criminal record if the charges get dismissed or if the person is found not guilty.

Having a DUI on your criminal record may pose a problem with future employment, which is why it can be imperative to have your criminal record expunged. Many employers perform background checks on applicants before making any hiring decisions regarding a potential employee, and having a DUI on your criminal record may hinder an employer from offering you a position even if it is well-deserved.

A DUI arrest can result in the loss, suspension or restriction of your Florida driving privileges. In general, if you have been charged with a Florida DUI, it is likely that your driver’s license will be administratively suspended within 10 days of your arrest. Furthermore, you usually only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to contest this suspension on your license, so it is vital to contact the Law Offices of Whittel & Melton right away so that we can file the appropriate documents with the DHSMV to protect your ability to drive in Florida.

If you were arrested for a DUI charge in The Villages or any surrounding areas, The Villages DUI Lawyers at Whittel & Melton, LLC can provide you with all relevant information regarding Florida DUI laws, the penalties associated with DUI in Florida, field sobriety tests, driver’s license revocations, the court process for a Florida DUI, what happens after a DUI arrest, restricted license information and all other inquiries associated with a Florida DUI arrest. For a free confidential consultation, contact us online or reach us in The Villages at 352-369-5334.